I’m crouched behind a busted UAZ outside Pochinki, health at 23%, no meds left. The blue zone’s kissing my ass, and I can hear footsteps in the two-story building ahead. My M416 has exactly 17 rounds. This is the moment—after 43 goddamn matches of getting absolutely deleted in the first five minutes—where PUBG finally clicked for me. I pre-fired the doorway, sprayed through the wooden wall (because yeah, bullets actually penetrate surfaces in this game), and got my first solo kill that actually felt *earned*. Then I immediately got headshot by a guy I never saw. Welcome to PUBG. That perfectly sums up my two weeks with this game on my PC (RTX 3070, Ryzen 7 5800X, running High/Ultra mix settings at 1440p). It’s simultaneously the most satisfying and infuriating shooter I’ve touched in years.
First Impressions After 10 Hours
I went in expecting Fortnite with realistic guns. **Dead wrong.** PUBG doesn’t hold your hand—there’s no tutorial that teaches you the recoil patterns, no practice mode that explains why your shots are missing at 200 meters (bullet drop is REAL here). The first ten hours were basically a $0 bootcamp in humility. I thought I was decent at shooters. PUBG said “cute” and sent me back to the lobby 87 times.
What genuinely surprised me: how much the sound design matters. I started playing with my crappy headset and couldn’t figure out why I kept getting flanked. Switched to my HyperX Cloud IIs and suddenly I could hear someone opening a door two buildings over. The audio is *chef’s kiss* when it works, which leads me to…

What Actually Works
**The gunplay is unmatched in the genre.** Every weapon feels distinct. The Beryl M762 kicks like an angry mule but deletes people if you can control it. The Mini14 is a laser beam for those Miramar long-range poke wars. I spent an entire evening in Training Mode (yes, it exists, buried in menus) learning spray patterns, and it actually transferred to real matches. When you laser someone at 150m with a 4x scope compensating for bullet drop? That’s the good stuff. File size is hefty though—35.2GB on my Steam install—but the weapon models and animations justify it.
**The maps have actual personality.** Erangel feels like classic PUBG—those wheat fields where you’re just praying nobody’s watching. Miramar is sniper heaven but also depression simulator when you’re running between compounds with zero cover. I had this one match on Taego (the 8×8 Korean map) where the final circle closed on a tiny bridge, and it turned into this desperate vehicle jousting match with Molotovs everywhere. You don’t get that emergent chaos in Apex or Warzone.
**The ranked mode fixed my biggest gripe.** 64 players instead of 100 means less RNG, better loot density, and the SUPER settings (tournament rules) remove the stupid Red Zone entirely. I’m hovering around Gold III after 45 hours, averaging 90-120 FPS which feels smooth as hell. Loading into matches takes 30-45 seconds from lobby, which is fine while I’m tweaking my loadout preferences.

The Frustrating Parts
**The learning curve is a vertical wall covered in broken glass.** There’s so much the game just doesn’t explain. I didn’t know bandages cap at 75% health for like 20 matches. Nobody tells you that you need to manually switch fire modes (B key default) or that leaning (Q/E) is basically mandatory for FPP. I learned about wave dropping from a YouTube video, not the game. For a F2P title trying to attract new players, this is baffling.
**Bugs and jank are still everywhere.** I got stuck inside a warehouse wall in Pochinki—like fully clipped through—and had to die to zone because I couldn’t move. Twice I’ve had my game freeze for 2-3 seconds mid-firefight, which on PC with 32GB RAM is inexcusable. The parachute physics occasionally spaz out and slam you into buildings. And don’t get me started on the desync—I’ve been killed “around corners” enough times that I’ve just accepted it as part of the experience.
**The monetization feels scummy for a game that used to be $30.** Yeah, it’s F2P now, but the “Battlegrounds Plus” account upgrade ($13) is basically mandatory if you don’t want to deal with hackers (better anti-cheat queue) and want Ranked mode without restrictions. The cosmetic shop is whatever—I don’t care about $20 gun skins—but locking basic quality-of-life behind a paywall after going F2P? That stings. Also, the battle pass (Survivor Pass) is extremely grindy. I’m level 8 after 45 hours.
Comparing to Similar Games
**Versus Apex Legends:** Apex is the better pure shooter with way smoother movement and actual character abilities. But PUBG’s tactical positioning and “every match is different” vibe keeps me coming back. In Apex, you’re constantly fighting. In PUBG, you might loot for 10 minutes, then have 30 seconds of absolute chaos that gets your heart pounding. Different strokes. If you want fast-paced, play Apex. If you want tension, PUBG wins.
**Versus Warzone 2:** PUBG feels more “fair” somehow? No loadout drops, no buying back teammates, no UAVs revealing everyone. You find a gun, you learn to use it, you adapt. Warzone has better production value and integration with CoD, but PUBG’s simplicity (despite the complexity) is refreshing. Also, PUBG runs better on my rig—Warzone stutters like crazy on certain maps.
Bottom Line + FAQ
PUBG in 2024 is like dating someone with commitment issues—when it’s good, it’s *incredible*, but you’re always wondering when the next letdown is coming. The core gameplay loop of dropping, looting, and surviving is still unmatched in the genre, and the gunplay remains top-tier… But the technical issues, steep learning curve, and questionable F2P monetization make it hard to recommend without caveats. If you’ve got patience and don’t mind getting destroyed for 20+ hours while you learn, this is still the thinking person’s battle royale. Just… maybe wait for a sale on Battlegrounds Plus.
**Is it actually free or is there a catch?**
Yeah, base game is F2P since January 2022, but you’ll want Battlegrounds Plus ($13) for Ranked mode and better anti-cheat matchmaking. Without it, you’re stuck in Casual queues which have more hackers and bots. I caved and bought it after 15 hours because the hacker situation was making me lose my mind. Worth it if you’re serious, skip it if you’re just testing the waters.
**How hard is it for total beginners?**
Brutally hard, not gonna sugarcoat it. My first 10 hours were basically spawn, loot, die to someone I never saw, repeat. The game has zero hand-holding—you’ll need YouTube tutorials for spray control, positioning, and zone rotations. Start in TDM mode to learn gunplay without the looting anxiety. Once I stopped hot-dropping Pochinki like an idiot and learned to play the edge of circles, my survival time jumped from 8 minutes average to 18+.
**Does it run okay on mid-range PCs?**
On my RTX 3070 with settings on High/Ultra mix at 1440p, I get 90-120 FPS solid, occasionally dipping to 75ish in Georgopol with lots of players. A buddy runs it on a 1660 Ti at 1080p Medium and gets 70-90 FPS, totally playable. The game’s improved way better than 2017 launch, but it’s still Unreal Engine 4 so expect some shader compilation stutter on first load.
**Which map should I learn first?**
Erangel, 100%. It’s the most balanced for all playstyles and teaches you the core PUBG flow—rotate early, avoid open fields, use smokes. Miramar is gorgeous but punishes new players hard with all the long sightlines. Sanhok (4×4) is good for learning combat but bad habits form because you’re always fighting. I queue Erangel/Taego only now and my win rate went up.
**Solo or squads for learning?**
Honestly? Squads with randoms taught me more than solos because you can spectate after you die and see how better players rotate and position. Solos are pure anxiety—one mistake and you’re done. In squads you can get revived and learn from mistakes. Just mute toxic teammates immediately. Once you understand the flow, solos become way more satisfying. My first solo Chicken Dinner at hour 38 felt better than any Apex win.