So I’ve been grinding League of Legends for about 40-50 hours over the past month and honestly, I’m conflicted as hell. This game has been around since 2009, and here we’re in February 2026, Patch 26.3, and it’s still pulling massive numbers. On my RTX 4060 with an i7-12700 and 16GB RAM, the game runs butter smooth at like 280-300 fps on maxed settings, which is kinda hilarious because you don’t really need that much for a MOBA. Loading times are super fast too—like 5-10 seconds into a match, file size sits around 22GB which is pretty reasonable. But here’s the thing: technical performance means nothing when you’re screaming at your monitor because your top laner is 0/7 at 10 minutes. Let me be real with you—League is one of those games where the high moments feel AMAZING and the low moments make you question your life choices. I’m playing casually when I’ve time (main kalau sempat, you know how it’s), so I’m not trying to hit Challenger or anything. Just hopping into some normals, trying out the new Mayhem ARAM mode they had running until late January, and dipping my toes into ranked. The learning curve is absolutely brutal if you’re new. I’ve been gaming for years and I still spent my first 10 hours getting absolutely dumpstered because I didn’t understand wave management, jungle tracking, or why everyone kept pinging me for not warding. The game throws you into this strategic deep end where you need to know like 165+ champions, their abilities, their counters, item builds, and map rotations. It’s genuinely overwhelming. But when it clicks? Man, when it clicks it’s incredible. I had this one match on Summoner’s Rift playing Jinx bot lane (I’m trash at ADC but whatever), and we were down like 10 kills. Enemy team started Baron around 28 minutes, my jungler Lee Sin went for the steal, actually got it somehow, and we aced them in the pit. We rode that Baron buff straight to their Nexus and won a game we had no business winning. That adrenaline rush was insane. On the flip side, I also had a match where our mid laner rage quit after dying twice, and we spent 15 minutes getting slowly strangled before we could surrender. That’s League in a nutshell—the highest highs and the lowest lows, often in the same gaming session. Now for some specific stuff I ran into: There was this weird visual bug during champion select around mid-January where the champion portraits would just… not load? Like, blank squares everywhere. I had to restart the client twice, and it made me dodge a game accidentally (lost LP for that, thanks Riot). The workaround was just closing the Riot Client completely and relaunching, but it was annoying as hell when I was trying to get into a quick match. Also, the new champion Zaahen that they introduced recently? Feels overtuned as hell. Every time I see that champ in my games, they just run over everyone. Maybe I just don’t know the counterplay yet, but it’s frustrating. One mechanic that really frustrated me initially was last-hitting minions for gold. Like, I get it conceptually—you need to time your attacks to get the killing blow—but in practice, especially when you’re also trying to dodge enemy poke, watch the minimap, and not get ganked, it’s a lot. I probably lost hundreds of gold in my first 20 hours just to tower shots or my own minions killing the enemy wave. But around hour 30, something clicked. I started understanding the rhythm, the attack animations, when to set up the wave. Now I can consistently hit 6-7 CS per minute in normals, which isn’t great but it’s progress. That progression feeling is addictive.
Okay But Here’s The Thing
The real magic of League—and why it’s survived 17 years—is the strategic depth and team coordination when it actually works. This isn’t a game where one person can 1v9 carry every match (I mean, sometimes a fed assassin can, but generally no). You NEED your team. The macro strategy of when to take objectives, how to rotate, when to group for Baron versus split push, when to trade objectives (like “they take dragon, we take Herald”)—all of that creates this incredibly dynamic chess match that changes every single game.
What kept me coming back wasn’t the flashy outplays (though those are cool). It was the satisfaction of a well-executed team fight where everyone plays their role correctly. Your tank frontline zones the enemy carries, your ADC positions safely and pumps out damage, your support peels and provides vision, your mid and jungle dive the backline. When that synchronization happens, even in a casual normal game with randoms, it feels SO good. I had a match last week where we executed a perfect 4-1 split push—our Fiora pressured top while we took Baron, enemy team couldn’t respond to both, and we ended the game off that call. That strategic layer is what separates League from more mechanical-focused games.
The flip side is that when your team doesn’t coordinate, or someone is actively griefing, the game becomes miserable. You’re locked in for 20-40 minutes with four other people, and if even one person is having a meltdown, it tanks the whole experience. The ping system is great for communication (I basically never use text chat because toxicity), but you can’t ping strategic concepts like “we need to give up this dragon and scale for late game.” That communication gap in solo queue is real.

About The Spending…
Here’s where I gotta give Riot credit: the monetization is purely cosmetic. I haven’t spent a single rupiah—err, dollar—on this game, and I’m not at any competitive disadvantage. You can unlock every champion with Blue Essence that you earn just by playing. Yeah, it takes time (I’ve unlocked like 25 champions in 50 hours), but you’re not paywalled from gameplay content. The stuff you buy with real money (RP) is skins, emotes, ward skins, chromas—pure drip, zero stats.
I did feel tempted to grab a skin for Jinx after that Baron steal game because I was feeling myself, but I resisted. Skins range from like $5 for basic ones to $30 for the fancy Ultimate tier with custom animations and effects. There’s also the Hextech Crafting system where you can get free skins by earning chests through good performance (S-rank games) and keys through just playing. I’ve gotten three free skins so far from that system, which is honestly pretty generous for a F2P game.
Compared to other MOBAs, League’s monetization is super fair. Dota 2 gives you all heroes for free which is more generous, but their cosmetic prices are similar. The gacha aspect (Hextech chests) exists but you can completely ignore it—I just open the free ones I earn. There’s zero pressure to spend unless you really want that KDA Ahri skin or whatever. The Battle Pass stuff (Event Passes) are like $10-15 and give you missions to grind for exclusive cosmetics, but again, totally optional. I’d say if you’re the type who needs your character to look fresh, budget $20-30 every few months. If you’re like me and don’t care, you can play forever for free.

Quick Comparison
vs Dota 2: Dota is mechanically harder (turn rates, denying, more active items) but all heroes are free immediately. League is more accessible with simpler mechanics but champions take longer to unlock. Honestly, if you want pure competitive depth and don’t mind the steeper learning curve, try Dota. If you want something slightly more approachable with a bigger playerbase and better onboarding, League edges it out. Both are great, just different philosophies.
vs Wild Rift (League’s mobile version): Wild Rift is faster-paced, more casual-friendly, and mobile-improved. If you want the League experience but in 15-minute matches on your phone, go Wild Rift. PC League is the “full” experience with deeper strategy and longer matches (25-40 min average).

Should You Play It?
If you have friends who play, absolutely try it. The game is way more fun in a premade group where you can voice chat and coordinate. If you’re going solo queue like me, be prepared for a grind and some frustrating matches. The free-to-play model means there’s zero risk to downloading and trying it out. Just know that the first 20-30 hours will be rough as you learn the fundamentals.
Skip it if: You have anger management issues (seriously, this game will test you), you don’t have time to invest in learning (the skill floor is real), or you hate team-based games where your success depends on others. Also skip if you need instant gratification—League rewards long-term learning and improvement, not quick dopamine hits.
Play it if: You love strategic depth, you enjoy competitive team games, you like the feeling of gradual improvement and mastery, or you’re just curious about one of the biggest esports in the world. The 2026 season is as good a time as any to jump in with the new champions and modes they’re adding.
For me? I’m gonna keep playing casually. It’s frustrating as hell sometimes, but those clutch Baron steals and perfect team fights keep pulling me back. Just manage your expectations, mute toxic players immediately, and remember it’s just a game (I need to remind myself of this constantly).
Stuff People Keep Asking
Q: How long does it take to get decent at this game?
Honestly, like 50-100 hours to understand the basics. I’m at 50 hours and I still feel like a noob half the time. You’ll start recognizing champion abilities, learning basic macro around 30-40 hours, but true “competence” takes way longer. My tip: stick to 3-5 champions max when learning, don’t try to master everyone at once.
Q: Is the community really that toxic?
Yeah, it can be pretty bad in solo queue. I’ve had people flaming in champ select before the game even starts, AFKers, the whole package. But the /mute all command is your best friend—I use it every game now and just communicate with pings. The game’s way more enjoyable when you’re not reading some kid’s essay about why you suck. Honestly, premade groups with friends are the way to go if you can.
Q: Can my potato laptop run this?
Probably yeah, Riot designed League to run on basically anything. On my RTX 4060 I’m getting 280+ fps, but I’ve seen people play on integrated graphics at like 60 fps on low settings. The game’s not graphically demanding—it’s from 2009 with updated visuals. If your laptop can run Chrome, it can probably run League. Download is only 22GB too, which is nothing compared to modern games.
Q: How much do I need to spend to unlock all champions?
Nothing if you’re patient, or like $500+ if you want everything immediately with RP. Blue Essence from just playing will unlock champions over time—I got 25 in 50 hours playing casually. The weekly free rotation gives you 20 champions to try, so you’re never stuck with just the cheap starter ones. New players also get a bunch of free champions from missions. Real talk: you don’t need every champion, just find 10-15 you like and master those.
Q: Should I play ranked or just normals?
Start with normals for like 50-100 games minimum. Ranked is way sweatier and people get tilted easier when LP is on the line. I dipped into ranked around 35 hours and got absolutely destroyed because I didn’t understand draft phase, counterpicks, or proper wave management. Normals let you learn without the pressure, try new champions, and experiment. Once you’re comfortable with your role and a few champs, then try ranked. Or just stay in normals if you’re casual like me—it’s way less stressful and still fun.