So I’ve been playing Call of Duty: Warzone for about 40-50 hours over the past month and honestly? It’s a weird relationship. Some nights I’m absolutely loving it, pulling off clutch plays in the Gulag and screaming at my monitor when my squad wins. Other nights I’m alt-f4’ing out of pure frustration because I just got lasered by someone I couldn’t even see, or the game decided to crash mid-match for the third time that week. Let me start with what I’m running: RTX 4060, i7-12700, 16GB RAM. Not top-tier but definitely solid enough for 1080p gaming. I’ve got Warzone running at mostly High settings with some Ultra textures, and I’m getting around 110-130 FPS in most areas. Drops to like 85-95 when things get chaotic in places like Capital on Caldera or when there’s a ton of particle effects from killstreaks. The game is absolutely massive too – we’re talking 150GB+ on my SSD, which is just insane. I had to delete like three other games to make room. The thing about Warzone is that it’s not just one game anymore – it’s this Frankenstein monster of like five different Call of Duty titles all mashed together. You’ve got weapons from Modern Warfare 2019, Cold War, Vanguard, MWII, and MWIII all in the same sandbox. Some guns have 5 attachment slots, others have 10. The meta shifts every season, and just when you’ve finally leveled up your favorite AR, they nerf it into the ground. I spent two weeks grinding the Grau 5.56 only for them to completely change the recoil pattern in a random Tuesday update. Fun times. But here’s the weird part – when Warzone clicks, it REALLY clicks. I had this moment on Rebirth Island last week where my entire squad was dead, I was the last one alive against a full quad in the final circle. Somehow managed to third-party two teams fighting each other, grabbed a self-revive from a death box, plated up behind a rock, and clutched the 1v4 with literally 12 HP left. My hands were shaking. That’s the Warzone experience that keeps me coming back – those ridiculous, movie-like moments that you immediately clip and send to your friends.
Okay But Here’s The Thing
The Gulag system is still the most genius mechanic in any battle royale, period. Getting sent to a 1v1 arena after dying instead of just spectating your teammates? Chef’s kiss. I’ve seen so many different Gulag variations – sometimes it’s shotguns in a tiny shower room, sometimes it’s pistols in a Nuketown knockoff, sometimes it’s random ARs in some weird map I don’t recognize. The overtime flag capture adds this amazing tension where if neither of you can get a kill in 40 seconds, you have to rush middle and fight over a flag. I’ve lost count of how many times both players just sprint at each other with zero regard for tactics when that flag spawns.
What really makes it work is that spectating teammates can throw rocks at the fighters. Yeah, literal rocks. It sounds stupid but it’s actually clutch – I’ve won Gulags because my teammate threw a rock that distracted the enemy right before I peeked. I’ve also lost because someone threw a rock that made me think the enemy was on the left when they were actually on the right. It’s chaotic and I love it.
The loadout drop system is the other big differentiator. In Apex or PUBG, you’re stuck with whatever you find. In Warzone, you save up $10,000 in cash (from looting boxes, completing contracts, or killing people), hit a Buy Station, and call in your custom loadout with all your unlocked attachments and perks. The moment that loadout crate hits the ground and you swap your random floor loot for your perfectly tuned Kilo 141 with the VLK optic and 60-round mags? That’s when you go from “just trying to survive” to “actively hunting people.” Game-changer.
But man, the technical issues. Let me tell you about the time I was in the top 5 on Caldera, circle closing on Peak (that giant volcano in the middle), fully kitted with my loadout, like 8 kills deep, feeling unstoppable. I’m rotating up the mountain, using a trophy system to block incoming rockets, and then… black screen. Game crashes. Just straight to desktop. No error message, no warning, nothing. When I restart, I’m back at the main menu with a loss on my record. This has happened probably 6-7 times in my 50 hours of playtime. There’s no fix I’ve found – some Reddit threads say to update GPU drivers (already did), others say to scan and repair files (tried it, still crashes), and Activision’s official response is basically “we’re looking into it lol.”
Loading times are hit or miss too. On my SSD, getting into a match takes anywhere from 1-3 minutes depending on server load and what playlist I’m joining. Rebirth Island modes load faster (usually under 90 seconds), while the big Caldera BR can take the full 3 minutes. Once you’re in, though, the game runs pretty smooth on my setup. Textures pop in fast, no weird streaming issues like some people report on slower rigs.

About The Spending…
Alright, let’s talk money because this is where Warzone gets complicated. The game is 100% free to play, which is awesome. You can download it, never spend a penny, and have the full experience. Every weapon is unlockable through gameplay, every mode is accessible, there’s no pay-to-win gatekeeping. That’s the good news.
The bad news? The monetization is EVERYWHERE. Every time you’re in the lobby, there’s a giant ad for the new operator bundle. The Battle Pass is constantly in your face ($10 per season, roughly every 2-3 months). There are weapon blueprint bundles for $15-24 that give you pre-built guns with cosmetic tracers and cleaner iron sights. And then there’s BlackCell, which is like the premium premium Battle Pass for $30 that gives you instant unlocks and exclusive skins.
I haven’t spent any money yet, and honestly, I don’t feel forced to. But I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t tempted. There was this Roze operator skin controversy a while back where people were paying $20 for a skin that was basically invisible in dark corners – literal pay-to-win advantages through visibility. They’ve mostly fixed that now, but it left a bad taste. Some weapon blueprints also have cleaner iron sights than the base version, which technically gives you an advantage since you don’t need to waste an attachment slot on an optic. It’s not game-breaking, but it’s definitely a marginal edge.
Compared to something like Apex Legends, Warzone’s monetization is about the same level of aggressive. Fortnite is probably more in-your-face with collabs and limited-time skins, but at least Fortnite’s Battle Pass pays for itself if you complete it. Warzone’s Battle Pass gives you COD Points back, but not quite enough to buy the next season – you always end up like 200-300 points short, which is obviously intentional to get you to spend more.
The one thing I’ll say: if you’re a casual player like me who only plays kalau sempat (when there’s time), don’t bother with the Battle Pass. I bought one season’s pass in the past just to try it, and I only completed like 60% of it before the season ended. You need to play pretty consistently to get your money’s worth. Stick to free-to-play unless you’re grinding daily.

Quick Comparison
Warzone vs Apex Legends: Apex has better movement mechanics and character abilities, but Warzone has the Gulag and loadout system which makes deaths feel less punishing. Apex runs smoother on my PC (consistent 144fps vs Warzone’s 110-130fps), but Warzone’s gunplay feels more satisfying to me. Both have aggressive monetization. Pick Apex if you like fast-paced hero shooters, pick Warzone if you want tactical CoD gunfights in a BR.
Warzone vs PUBG: PUBG is way more realistic and slow-paced. Warzone is arcadey and chaotic. PUBG has better sound design and more strategic positioning, but Warzone has way more action and respawn mechanics. PUBG barely updates anymore, Warzone gets new content every season. If you want milsim vibes, PUBG. If you want constant action, Warzone.
Should You Play It?
If you’re into battle royales and you haven’t tried Warzone yet, yeah, absolutely give it a shot. It’s free, so worst case you waste 150GB of hard drive space and a few hours of your time. The core gameplay loop is genuinely fun when everything works, and those clutch moments in the Gulag or winning a game with your squad? Nothing else quite hits the same.
BUT – and this is a big but – be prepared for technical issues, massive file sizes, frequent meta shifts, and a learning curve that assumes you already know Call of Duty’s movement and gunplay. If you’re coming from slower BRs like PUBG, the TTK (time-to-kill) in Warzone will feel insanely fast. You can get deleted in under a second if someone has good aim and a meta weapon. The skill ceiling is high, and you WILL get destroyed by sweaty players with 300+ hours who know every angle and headglitch spot on the map.
Skip it if: You have limited hard drive space (seriously, 150GB+), you get frustrated easily by deaths you don’t understand, you hate constantly changing metas, or you’re on older hardware (anything below a GTX 1660 is gonna struggle). Also skip if you don’t have friends to play with – solo queueing is possible but way less fun than running with a coordinated squad.
Play it if: You like fast-paced shooters, you want a BR with respawn mechanics, you enjoy grinding weapon unlocks and camo challenges, you have a solid gaming rig, and you’ve got at least 2-3 friends who also play. Rebirth Island mode is perfect for casual sessions – matches are 15-20 minutes instead of 30+ minutes on the big map, and respawns are more forgiving.
Stuff People Keep Asking
Q: Does it run okay on mid-range PCs or is it only for high-end rigs?
It runs fine on mid-range stuff. My RTX 4060 with i7-12700 gets 110-130 FPS on High/Ultra mix at 1080p, and I’ve seen people with 1660 Ti’s getting playable 60-80 FPS on Medium settings. Just make sure you have at least 16GB RAM because this game is a memory hog – I’ve seen it use up to 12GB during intense fights on Caldera. Also, SSD is basically mandatory or you’ll be staring at loading screens for 5+ minutes.
Q: Is the Gulag actually fair or is it just RNG who wins?
The loadouts are symmetrical so both players get the same weapons, which is fair. But the map RNG and spawn positions can definitely screw you – sometimes you spawn with better cover or a better angle. I’d say it’s like 70% skill, 30% luck. If you’re good at 1v1 gunfights and know how to use your tacticals (stuns/flashes), you’ll win most of your Gulags. Pro tip: don’t peek the same angle twice, and listen for enemy footsteps since dead silence isn’t in the Gulag.
Q: How long does it take to unlock meta weapons if you don’t buy anything?
Depends on how much you grind. Most weapons unlock pretty fast just by leveling up, but getting them to max level with all attachments? That’s the grind. I spent like 6-7 hours of gameplay just leveling my Kilo 141 from base to max level (around level 68). Rebirth Island is way faster for weapon XP than regular BR because you get more engagements. You can also level weapons in the premium CoD games (MWII/MWIII) and it carries over to Warzone, which is faster if you own those games.
Q: What’s the deal with all these different maps – which one should I play?
Caldera is the big map (150 players, 30+ minute matches, lots of open space and vehicles). Rebirth Island is the small map (40 players, 15-20 minute matches, constant respawns if your team is alive, way more action). As a casual player, I honestly prefer Rebirth because matches are shorter and deaths feel less punishing with the respawn system. Caldera is better if you like tactical rotations and longer, more strategic games. Start with Rebirth to learn the mechanics, then try Caldera if you want the full BR experience.
Q: Should I spend money on the Battle Pass or operator bundles?
Only buy the Battle Pass if you know you’ll play consistently for the next 2-3 months. I wasted $10 on a pass I barely completed because I only play a few hours a week. The operator bundles are pure cosmetics with minor advantages (some weapon blueprints have cleaner sights), so unless you really want a specific skin or you’re a completionist, skip them. The game is 100% playable without spending anything – I’ve got 50 hours in and haven’t spent a dollar since that one Battle Pass mistake.